The Distinguished Service Hall of Fame (DSHOF) award shall be the highest honor which can be bestowed upon any single member of Blacks In Government (BIG) and shall be reserved for active and financial members who shall have been active in BIG for a minimum of fifteen (15) consecutive years. These individuals shall have distinguished themselves as making exceptional contributions at the National, Regional and/or Chapter levels of BIG or their respective communities. Members receiving this high honor must be recommended by their Chapter, their Regional Council and verified for eligibility by the National Board of Directors respectively.

2009 Distinguished Service Hall of Fame (DSHOF) Award Winners

Mr. Oscar Eason, Jr

Mrs. Ramona McCarthy-Hawkins

Mr. Gerald R. Reed

Mr. Thomas Walton